Home > JAVA, Ubuntu Geek > IntelliJIDEA 9 is ready to drive … [the first failture]

IntelliJIDEA 9 is ready to drive … [the first failture]

I’m really excited what’s is new inside.  I’m only guessing lot of improvements because I’m using IJ for Groovy&Grails Develop., Python and Java, of course.  If you have the first installation of IJ don’t forget to setup all environment variables.

JAVA_HOME and IDEA_JDK

otherwise you received such nice warnings. Although I had everything already done I received such exception.

# ./bin/idea.sh
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.intellij.ide.plugins.PluginManager
at com.intellij.util.lang.UrlClassLoader.findClass(UrlClassLoader.java:67)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:307)

When I was trying to find out where is the issue I realized that in my HOME_FOLDER of IJ there are not created these IJ folders ~/.IntelliJIdea90/ and ~/.IntelliJIdea9x. Just create them by yourself and you got it. IntelliJIDEA 9 gonna to start ! ( But with other exceptions, Nothing is perfect) Maybe this was caused by other version of IJ installation. I don’t know.

at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(FutureTask.java:303)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:138)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:886)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:908)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)
at com.intellij.openapi.application.impl.ApplicationImpl$1$1.run(ApplicationImpl.java:124)

Now you are asked for licence ….

Categories: JAVA, Ubuntu Geek
  1. AndreiHAN
    December 20, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Hello!
    Your solution did not help in my case (Ubuntu 9.10 and idea-IU-93.13)
    Additionally, there is no class com.intellij.ide.plugins.PluginManager in idea.jar.
    There are PluginManagerMain class.

    • miragemiko
      December 20, 2009 at 8:25 pm

      Hello Andrei … Mine case was similar, I guess. You can try create also these subdirectories .IntelliJIdea90/config and .IntelliJIdea9x/system. And try to start installation script again. In my case that was successful. Anyway as IJ9 is still not tuned for Linux you received several exception too. Advantage is IJ9 works… Let me know if my advice helps to you. ThX

      • AndreiHAN
        December 23, 2009 at 7:47 am

        Hello, it does not work even with creating subdirectories, and even with placing content from idea 8 config and system subdirectories.
        I tried Community Edition – idea-IC-93.13, it works fine.

  2. AndreiHAN
    January 21, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Solved!
    File idea/bin/idea.properties is absent.
    I’ve copied it from community edition and modified a bit.

    • miragemiko
      January 21, 2010 at 11:49 pm

      Thanks for do comment that … I had no time to do so … cheers 🙂 and thanks again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

