Home > brief news, GeeCON > … PhD, Hudson-mobi, OpenGL : simply Android

… PhD, Hudson-mobi, OpenGL : simply Android

Last days I had no time for blogging… I’m really missing it!  I’ve been working on project for my PhD and PhD itself.  It’s pretty hard to stay focused when the weather outside is almost sunny 🙂 … I’m glad I have time go to the gym or biking.

During the mean time I’m glad for my participation on Hudson-mobi for android. I’ve changed layout, implement animations, workflow, class changes and I did couple of fixes inside the source code itself. Well, I don’t want to forget about app graphic design which I’ve done too.  I hope all users gonna be satisfied with look-and-feel design. It’s really excited to participate on this.  Everything gonna be published soon! Have a quick look now and here…

Yesterday I had just feeling I should open OpenGL SE implementation for Android.  Emulator is doing pretty good. 3D implementation is working pretty fast, no doubts here. Much more excited is hardware implementation on your device. (HTC Desire, Nexus One).   Here are only two images … from glass effect which is quite simple to implement using OpenGL tutorial … HERE .

Most special effects in OpenGL rely on some type of blending. Blending is used to combine the color of a given pixel that is about to be drawn with the pixel that is already on the screen. How the colors are combined is based on the alpha value of the colors, and/or the blending function that is being used. Most people think of Alpha as how opaque a material is. An alpha value of 0.0 would mean that the material is completely transparent. A value of 1.0 would be totally opaque.

import javax.microedition.khronos.opengles.GL10;
import javax.microedition.khronos.opengles.GL11;
import android.content.Context;
import android.graphics.Bitmap;
import android.graphics.BitmapFactory;
import android.opengl.GLUtils;
Currently code is under progress to changed to Android 2.1 because the most of Android are powered by 2.1 … so maybe next blog I’ll add sample project 🙂
Categories: brief news, GeeCON
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

